In addition to being Secretary-General of iNEER, Win Aung is affiliated with the U.S. National Science Foundation (NSF) where he holds the position of Senior Staff Associate – Engineering Education. Prior to joining NSF, he carried out research at Bell Telephone Laboratories. A member of the U.S. Senior Executive Service and a recipient of the NSF Federal Engineer of the Year award, he is a Fellow of American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME). He has written extensively on research and education and is a frequent speaker on campuses around the world and at international conferences. He has over 120 technical publications, and has edited or co-edited 9 books.  In 1999, he received the ASME Classic Paper Award, and the Doctorem Honoris Causa (honorary doctorate degree) from VSB – Technical University of Ostrava (VSB), Czech Republic. He is the founder of the International Conference on Engineering Education series and is a co-founder of the International Network for Engineering Education and Research (iNEER). He is a member of the Scientific Board of VSB. He is a member of the ASME Board on Education, and was an editor of the Transactions of ASME, Journal of Heat Transfer.      



Peter Hicks is Professor of Microelectronic Circuit Design in the Department of Electrical Engineering & Electronics, UMIST. From 1999 to 2002, he was Dean of UMIST. He was appointed to the post of Lecturer in the Department in 1978 and subsequently promoted to Senior Lecturer in 1985 and Professor of Microelectronic Circuit Design in 1988. In 1996 he was appointed as a Vice-Principal of UMIST with responsibility for Information Systems Strategy. His research interests are in the area of microelectronic circuit design and 'systems on silicon' and are mainly focused on integrated sensors and transducers. He has published over 120 papers and articles and is actively involved in the development of computer-based learning material for use in electronic engineering education. In 1989 he co-founded and became a director of Integrated Sensors Ltd., a campus company set up to manufacture and market integrated charged-particle detector systems. He is also chairman of the Electronic Design Education Consortium (EDEC) and a director of EDEC Multimedia Ltd., a partnership of eight UK universities dedicated to the production of computer-based learning material for use in electronic engineering education. The consortium was set up in 1992 and has received substantial funding under the UK Teaching and Learning Technology Programme (TLTP) to fund the development of courseware for use in electronic engineering degree courses. He was General Chair of ICEE-2002.



Luiz Carlos Scavarda-do-Carmo is the Director for Development Projects of the Pontifical Catholic University of Rio de Janeiro (PUC-Rio), and former Dean of its School of Sciences and Technology. He received the electrical engineering degree, the MSc. and the Ph.D. degrees in physics from PUC-Rio in 1967, 1970 and 1976, respectively. He is also Full Professor in the Physics Department of PUC-Rio, a visiting scholar of the Politecnico of Bari and the University of Roma III, and was a visiting scholar of the Russian Science Academy. He published more than 40 papers in the area of condensed matter physics and chaired the 1998 International Conference on Engineering Education (ICEE) held in Rio de Janeiro.



Vaclav Roubicek steps down as Rector of VSB – Technical University of Ostrava in 2003 and remains as Vice Rector for International Affairs. In 2002, he was elected to a Senate seat in the Czech Government. A specialist in mining and mineral resources research, he is the author of numerous papers and text books, and co-editor of the 2002 iNEER Special Volume: Engineering Education and Research – 2001: A Chronicle of Worldwide Innovations. A co-founder of iNEER and member of its Board since inception in 2000, he was General Chair of ICEE-1999.



Che-Ho Wei has been Chairman, National Science Council (NSC) since 2001. He was Vice President at National Chiao Tung University. He received the B.S. and M.S. degrees from National Chiao Tung University, and the Ph.D. from University of Washington, Seattle. Wei has received numerous awards, including the Distinguished Research Award in 1990 and 1996 from NSC, the IEEE Third Millennium Medal, the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society Golden Jubilee Medal, and the iNEER Achievement Award. He was co-chair of ICEE-2000 and chairman of the iNEER Board from 2001-2003.